Tuesday, November 29, 2005

What qualifies one to participate in government?

Confucius said, 'Honor five refinements, and get rid of four evils, then you can participate in government.'

The five refinements:
1. Good people are generous without being wasteful
2. They are hardworking without being resentful
3. They desire without being greedy
4. They are at ease without being haughty
5. They are dignified without being fierce

The four evils:
1. To execute without having being admonished; this is called cruelty.
2. To examine accomplishments without having instructed; this is called brutality.
3. To be lax in directions yet make deadlines; this is called viciousness.
4. To be stingy in giving what is due to others; this is called being bureaucratic.


Post a Comment

<< Home